



## STATE OF ARKANSAS REQUEST FOR EXTENSION OF TIME FOR FILING INDIVIDUAL TAX RETURNS

Jan. 1 - Dec. 31, 2019 or fiscal year	beainn	ina	and ending	20		Software ID
Primary's legal first name	MI	Last name		Primary's social security number	De	pt. Use Only
Spouse's legal first name <ul> <li>Mailing address (Number and street,</li> </ul>	MI • P.O. box	Last name ● x or rural route)		Spouse's social security number ●		DENIED: Extension request not approved on time
• City •	Stat	te or province		☐ Check if address is outside U.S. Foreign country name	DENIED: Other	

Filing this Arkansas extension form will extend the date to file your return to October 15<sup>th</sup> for calendar year filers. Fiscal year filers will have an extension of 180 days from their return due date.

File this request on or before the due date of your return. Keep a copy for your records.

**NOTE:** Income tax returns must be filed and the tax paid on or before the fifteenth (15<sup>th</sup>) day of the fourth (4<sup>th</sup>) month following the close of the tax year (April 15<sup>th</sup> for calendar year filers). This extension is an agreement by the Commissioner of Revenue to waive the statutory penalty for failure to file timely if the return is filed by the extension due date and the tax is paid by the original due date of the return (April 15<sup>th</sup> for calendar year filers).

### Mail to the following address:

#### Individual Income Tax Section P.O. Box 8149 Little Rock, AR 72203-8149

**Caution:** An extension to file is not an extension to pay. Interest and failure to pay penalty will be assessed if any tax due is not paid by the original due date, April 15<sup>th</sup> for calendar year filers.

Make check or money order payable in U.S. Dollars to "Dept. of Finance and Administration".

AR1055-IT	STATE of ARKA	2019	
Software ID	Calendar Year 2 Fiscal Year Ending (MN	019 or //DD/YYYY)	
Primary Social Security Number	Spouse's Social Security Number (if applicable)	Due Date	
		04/15/2020	
Primary Name			
Spouse Name		Amount	
Address		Amount of this Payment	\$
City, State, Zip			Include Cents
Telephone #			(ex. 1,234,567.00)



# **INSTRUCTIONS FOR FORM AR1055-IT**

**Extension of Time to File (Act 369 of 2007):** Allows the Director to grant an extension of time of 180 days from the original due date for filing an Arkansas individual income tax return.

**All federal extensions will be honored** as valid state extensions. If you have filed an Automatic Federal Extension of time to file, it is not necessary to complete an Arkansas Request for Extension (Form AR1055-IT).

The Department no longer requires that a copy of federal Form 4868 be attached to your state tax return.

If you request an extension using Form AR1055-IT or federal Form 4868, you must also check the appropriate box on the front of your Arkansas return.

Caution: An extension to file is not an extension to pay. Interest and failure to pay penalty will be assessed if any tax due is not paid by the original due date (April 15<sup>th</sup> for calendar year filers).

NOTE: Income tax returns must be filed and the tax paid on or before the fifteenth (15<sup>th</sup>) day of the fourth (4<sup>th</sup>) month following the close of the tax year (April 15<sup>th</sup> for calendar year filers). This extension is an agreement by the Commissioner of Revenue to waive the statutory penalty for failure to file timely if the return is filed by the extension due date and the tax is paid by the original due date of the return (April 15<sup>th</sup> for calendar year filers).

There are two ways to request an extension of time to file an Arkansas income tax return. This allows taxpayers to extend the date to file their return on or before October 15<sup>th</sup>.

### E-file – It's Convenient, Safe and Secure:

You can file Form AR1055-IT electronically by using your tax software package on your home computer or by using a tax professional. If you choose this option, you can elect to have debited from your checking or savings account, all or part of your estimated income tax due. Be sure to have a copy of your prior year tax return—you'll be asked to provide information from the return for taxpayer verification.

- You can get an automatic extension of time to file your tax return by filing Form AR1055-IT electronically.
- > You'll receive an electronic acknowledgment once you complete the transaction. Keep it with your records. Do not mail in Form AR1055-IT.

Several companies offer free e-Filing of Form AR1055-IT through the Free File program. Please visit our website at: <u>www.dfa.arkansas.gov</u>

### File a paper form AR1055-IT

If you wish to file an extension on paper instead of electronically, complete the Form AR1055-IT and enclose the payment of your estimate of tax due.

## Mail to: Individual Income Tax Section P. O. Box 8149 Little Rock, AR 72203