AR1000ADJ 2005

## STATE OF ARKANSAS SCHEDULE OF OTHER ADJUSTMENTS

## INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RETURN

ATTACH AS THE SECOND PAGE OF YOUR RETURN

Name	Social Security Number	
•	•	

## **INSTRUCTIONS**

**AR1000 Full Year Resident Filers** - Complete column (A) only, if using filing status 1 (single), filing status 2 (married filing joint), filing status 3 (head of household), filing status 5 (married filing separately on different returns) or filing status 6 (qualifying widow or widower). Complete columns (A) and (B) only, if using filing status 4 (married filing separately on the same return).

**AR1000NR Nonresident or Part-Year Resident Filers** - Complete column (A) and (C) only, if using filing status 1 (single), filing status 2 (married filing joint), filing status 3 (head of household), filing status 5 (married filing separately on different returns) or filing status 6 (qualifying widow or widower). Complete columns (A), (B) and (C) if using filing status 4 (married filing separately on the same return).

Total each column, if required, and enter the totals on Line 14 of this form **and** on Line 25 of page AR1/NR1 of Form AR1000/AR1000NR.

See line by line instructions on the reverse side of this form.

		(A) Your/Total Adjustments	(B) Spouse's Adjustments Status 4 Only	(C) Arkansas Adjustments Only
Payments to IRA: (See Instructions)	1	• 00	00	00
Payments to MSA: (See Instructions)	2	• 00	00	00
Payments to HSA: (See Instructions)	3	• 00	00	00
Deduction for interest paid on student loans:(See Instructions)	4	• 00	00	00
Contributions to Intergenerational Trust: (See Instructions)	5	• 00	00	00
Moving expenses: (Attach Federal Form 3903)	6	• 00	00	00
Self-employed health insurance deduction: (See Instructions)	7	• 00	00	00
KEOGH, Self-employed SEP and Simple Plans:	8	• 00	00	00
Forfeited interest penalty for premature withdrawal:	9	• 00	00	00
10. Alimony/Sep. Maint. paid to: Name: ● SSN: ●	_ 10	• 00	00	00
11. Support for permanently disabled individual: (Attach Form AR1000DC)	11	• 00	00	00
12. Organ Donor Deduction: (Attach Form AR10000D)	12	• 00	00	00
13. Arkansas Tax Deferred Tuition Savings Program:	13	• 00	00	00
14. TOTAL OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: Enter here and on page AR1/NR1, Line 25	14	00	00	00

## INSTRUCTIONS

- **LINE 1.** This line is used to report your allowable contribution to an Individual Retirement Account (IRA). If you contributed to your own IRA, certain limitations may apply to the amount you may use as an adjustment to income. If neither you, nor your spouse, are covered by an employer provided retirement plan, the entire contribution is deductible, up to \$4,000 each for all Filing Statuses. If either you, or your spouse, are covered by such a plan, the amount of the deduction depends on the amount of your Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) before the IRA deduction, as shown in the table on page 17 of the booklet instructions. Use this table along with your Arkansas AGI to determine your allowable deduction. **Catch up Contributions** Individuals who turn 50 before the close of the tax year may increase the maximum permitted annual contribution by up to \$500.
- LINE 2. This line is used to report your allowable contribution to an Archer Medical Savings account (MSA). An MSA is a trust or custodial account that is created or organized exclusively for the purpose of paying the qualified medical expenses of taxpayer (account holder) as well as the taxpayer's spouse and/or dependents. In order to be eligible, a taxpayer must have insurance coverage under a high deductible health plan (HDHP) only. A HDHP will have the following deductibles and limitations: (1) for self-only coverage, the minimum deductible is \$1,750, maximum deductible is \$2,650 and the maximum out of pocket expense is \$3,500, and (2) for family coverage, the minimum deductible is \$3,500, maximum deductible is \$5,250 and the maximum out of pocket expense is \$6,450. The contribution limitation for any month is the amount equal to 1/12 of 65% of the annual deductible for an individual with self-only coverage and 1/12 of 75% of the annual deductible for family coverage. New Archer MSAs may not be established after 2005 but contributions can be made to existing accounts.
- **LINE 3.** This line is used to report your allowable contribution to a Health Savings Account (HSA). In order to be eligible, a taxpayer must have insurance coverage under a high deductible health plan (HDHP) only. A HDHP will have the following deductibles and limitations: (1) for self-only coverage, the minimum deductible is \$1,000 and the maximum out of pocket expense is \$5,100, and (2) for family coverage, the minimum deductible is \$2,050 and the maximum out of pocket expense is \$10,250. You can make pre-tax contributions of up to \$2,600 each year (\$5,150 for families) to cover health care costs. Individuals who reach age 55 by the end of the tax year can increase their annual contribution by \$600 for 2005. Maximum contributions allowed to an HSA are reduced by any contributions made to an Archer MSA.
- LINE 4. You may take an adjustment for interest paid on student loans if all four of the following apply.
  - 1. You paid interest in 2005 on a qualified student loan.
- 2. Your filing status is any status except married filing separately on different returns (Status 5).
- 3. Your AGI is less than: \$65,000 if filing Status 1, 3, or 6; \$135,000 if filing Status 2 or 4. Status 4 filers, please note that this is a combined income amount.
- 4. You are not claimed as a dependent on another taxpayer's 2005 tax return.

Figure your allowable deduction using the worksheet on page 17 of the booklet instructions.

- **LINE 5.** You may take an adjustment from income for contributions made to a long-term intergenerational trust. This is a trust established for an individual under the age of 18 in order to provide funds for the minor's retirement. The trustee must be a resident of Arkansas and cannot distribute any of the trust funds to the beneficiary until the beneficiary reaches the age of 55. Contributions are limited to \$4,000 per year.
- **LINE 6.** Employees and self-employed persons (including partners) can deduct certain moving expenses. Expenses incurred in 2005 are deducted on this line as an adjustment to income.

You can only take this deduction if you moved in connection with your job or business and your change in job location has added at least fifty (50) miles to the distance from your old home to your workplace. If you had no former workplace, your new workplace must be at least fifty (50) miles from your old home. You must attach a completed copy of **Federal Form 3903**.

If you were reimbursed for any part of your moving expenses and the amount was included on your W-2, report this amount as income on Form AR1000/AR1000NR, Line 8. If the amount was not included on your W-2, include the amount on Form AR1000/AR1000NR, Line 22, Other Income.

- **LINE 7.** If you are self-employed and had a net profit for the year, you may be able to deduct part of the amount paid for health insurance on behalf of yourself, your spouse, and/or dependents. Complete the worksheet on page 21 of the booklet instructions to determine your deduction.
- **LINE 8.** If you are self-employed and contributed to a "Keogh", H.R. 10 retirement plan, or a SIMPLE plan, enter the total amount of your contributions in the space provided. The amount of the deduction depends upon the type of plan.
- LINE 9. Enter the total interest penalties paid for premature or early withdrawal of certificates of deposit.
- LINE 10. If you paid alimony or separate maintenance as the result of a court order, enter the total amount in the space provided. YOU MUST ENTER the name and Social Security Number of the person who received the payment.
- LINE 11. If you have a permanently disabled dependent, you can take an adjustment from income of \$500 for each permanently disabled dependent. Attach Form AR1000DC.
- **LINE 12.** If you paid unreimbursed expenses for yourself or one of your dependents related to the donation of an organ (part of a liver, pancreas, kidney, intestine, lung or bone marrow) you may take an income tax deduction of up to \$10,000. The deduction must be claimed for the taxable year in which the transplantation of the organ occurs. Allowable expenses include travel, lodging, medical expenses and lost wages that are related to the organ donation. An individual may claim the deduction only once in his or her lifetime. This deduction does not apply to organs harvested from a deceased donor. **Attach Form AR10000D.**
- **LINE 13.** If you made contributions to a tuition savings account established under the Arkansas Tax Deferred Tuition Savings Program enter the amount in the space provided. Contributions to plans established in states other than Arkansas are not deductible. The deductible contribution cannot exceed \$5,000 per taxpayer per tax year. Qualified withdrawals from a tuition savings account established under the Arkansas Tax Deferred Tuition Savings Program or a tax-deferred tuition savings program established by another state will be exempt from Arkansas income tax with respect to the designated beneficiary's income.
- LINE 14. Total Other Adjustments. Add Lines 1 through 13 and enter on this line and on Forms AR1 or NR1, Line 25.