

Instructions for Completion and Filing of Extension Request FORM AR1155

Extension of Time to File Clarified (Act 369 of 2007): This Act provides for an extension of time up to 180 days to file certain tax returns. The Act amends ACA 26-18-505(a)(3) to change the maximum extension for filing any return from 120 days to 180 days. The Act amends ACA 26-51-807(c) to allow a maximum extension of 60 days if a corporation has a federal extension of 180 days. Effective for tax years on or after January 1, 2007.

NOTE:

An Arkansas Corporation income tax return filed after the orignial due date of the 15th day of the 4th month after the close of the tax year will be assessed interest and failure to file and or failure to pay penalty from the original return due date until the date the return is filed and the tax is paid. This will include the assessment of interest and penalty on a return filed on a federal or Arkansas extension, if the tax due as reflected on the return is not paid on or before the original Arkansas return due date. Therefore, to avoid interest and penalty, any tax due reflected on the return must be paid on or before the 15th day of the 4th month after the close of the tax year. An exempt organization that is required to file a return shall file its return on or before the expiration of four and one-half (4 1/2) months after the close of the tax year (May 15th if filing on a calendar basis).

FILING

Please note that all federal extensions will be honored as valid state extensions. If you have filed for and received a Federal Extension of time to file, it is not necessary to complete an Arkansas Extension Request (Form AR1155) unless you want an Arkansas Extension beyond the Federal Extended due date.

Inability to pay is not a valid reason to request an Arkansas Extension.

Interest and/or Failure to Pay Penalty will be due if any tax due is not paid by the original due date; April 15th for calendar year corporate filers.

The date of the postmark stamped by the U.S. Postal Service is the date you filed your return or request for extension.

COMPLETION OF FORM AR1155

Please use the latest Revision of the AR1155 form that reflects changes made in 2023. No other version of the form will be accepted.

CORPORATION INCOME TAX FILERS

It is not necessary to file a copy of the Federal Extension, Form 7004 with the Arkansas Corporation Income Tax Section prior to filing your Arkansas Tax Return. If you have an Automatic Federal Extension (Form 7004) simply check the box on the face of the Arkansas Return (AR1100CT) when you file.

If it is determined that more time is needed to complete the AR1100CT, or AR1100S in addition to the Automatic Federal Extension (Form 7004), a sixty (60) day State extension can be requested on the Arkansas Form AR1155 by checking the box on line 2A. It is not necessary to send a copy of the approved Federal Extension with Form AR1155. If you are requesting a State Extension for 180 days, and do not have an Automatic Federal Extension, check Box 2B only.

Corporation Income Tax Due Dates:

- 1. Subchapter S or C are due on or before the 15^{th} day of the 4^{th} month after the close of the tax year. (April 15^{th} for calendar year filers).
- 2. Cooperative Associations are due on or before the 15th day of the 9th month after the closing date of the tax year. (September 15th for calendar year filers).
- 3. Exempt Organizations are due on or before the 15th day of the 5th month after the closing date of the tax year. (May 15th for calendar year filers).
- 4. Act 629 of 2021 amends Arkansas Code Annotated 26-51-807(a) to allow taxpayers an extension to file of one month after the extended due date for a federal income tax return for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2021. The one month extended due date does not apply to returns for which a federal extension is not requested and does not extend the original due date. As a reminder all tax payments are due on the original return due date and interest at 10% per annum and failure to pay penalties at 5% per month will be assessed on all taxes unpaid after the original due date which is April 15 for calendar year filers and the 15th day of the fourth month after the end of a tax year that does not end in December.