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REBATE/REIMBURSEMENT PRACTICES BULLETIN 

The Director of the Arkansas Alcoholic Beverage Contro l Division (ABC) issues this Bulletin to 
address the use of certain rebates and reimbursement practices by beer manufacturers 
licensed in Arkansas. Specifica lly, there is one particular rebate method that has been used in 
the market that runs contrary to ACT 783 of 2009 (ACA § 3-5-107) and also const itutes reach 
back pricing, which is prohibited by ABC regulation 2.28(11). The purpose of this bulletin is to 
describe that rebate method and explain how it is prohibited by Arkansas law. 

Like other rebate programs used in Arkansas, the rebate method in question provides for a 
rebate from a manufacturer to a wholesaler if the wholesaler discounts its price on a particular 
product to its retailers. However, under the rebate method in quest ion in order to receive the 
rebate on a product, the wholesaler must adhere to a recommended price to retailer (RPTR) 
that is set by the manufacturer. More precisely, in order to obta in a rebate, the wholesaler's 
discounted price to the retai ler must be less than the recommended price to reta iler (RPTR). If 
the wholesaler's discounted price exceeds the RPTR less the manufacturer's suggested 
discount, the rebate decreases and is actually eliminated if the wholesaler's discounted price 
exceeds the RPTR. The fo llowing are some examples of this rebate method: 



Example 1: 

RPTR for a 30 pack of beer is $20.00 

If the wholesa ler utilizes the RPTR, and discounts the cost to the retailer by $1.00 
it will receive a rebate of 50% of the discount up to a maximum $1.00 discount, for 
maximum potential rebate of $.50 
Wholesaler frontline price to retailer is $21.50 
Discounted price to reta iler is $20.50 
Since the discounted price to the retailer exceeds the RPTR there is no rebate in this 
particular case 

Example 2: 

RPTR for a 30 pack of beer is $20.00 
If the wholesaler utilizes the RPTR and discounts the cost to the retailer by $1.00, 
it w ill receive a rate of 50% of the discount (50 cents) 
Wholesaler frontline price to reta iler is $20.50 
Discounted price to retailer is $19.50 
The discounted price is lower than the RPTR, but only .50 cents lower as opposed to 
$1.00 lower as desired by the manufacturer; as a result, the wholesa ler only gets a 
rebate of 50% of .50 cents, for a rebate of .25 cents per 30 pack 

Example 3: 

RPTR for a 30 pack of beer is $20.00 

If the wholesaler utilizes the RPTR and discounts the cost to the retailer by $1.00, it 
wi ll receive a rebate of 50% of the discount (50 cents) 
The wholesaler adopts the RPTR of $20.00 

Discounted price to retai ler is $19.00 
Given that the wholesaler adopted the RPTR of $20.00, and discounted it to $19.00, 
it w ill receive the maximum rebate of 50% of $1.00, for a total rebate of .50 cents 
per 30 pack 

In summary, if a wholesaler's discounted price to a retailer exceeds the RPTR, there is no 
rebate. If the wholesaler's discounted price comes in below the RPTR, it w ill get a rebate, but 
the amount will vary depending on its relation to the RPTR. 

Act 783 of 2009, titled "Unlawful pricing by brewers and manufacturers," makes it unlawful for 
beer manufacturers to "discriminate in price, allowance, rebate, refund, commission, or 
discount between distributors or wholesalers licensed in Arkansas. ACA § 3-5-107(b)(1). The 
Act defines "discriminate" as the "granting of a more favorable price, allowance, rebate, refund, 
commiss ion or discount to one (1) Arkansas distributor or wholesaler than to another Arkansas 
distributor or wholesaler." ACA § 3-5-107(a). 



The rebate method described in this Bulletin results in varying rebates among wholesalers, 
which is prohibited by ACA § 3-5-107(a) . 

ABC regu lat ion 2.28(11) prohibits the industry practice known as " reach-back pricing." In 2010, 
the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission ("TABC") issued a "Ma rketing Practices Bulletin" 
speaking to the issue of "reach back pricing." As stated in the TABC Bulletin', a manufacture r is 
free to set its own prices, but the price changes must be based on factors other than a 
wholesaler's increase in the price they charge to a retailer. Likewise, the Director finds that a 
manufacturer is free to set its own rebates, but changes in the rebate amount must be based 
on factors other than a wholesaler's increase in the price they charge to a reta iler. This 
particular rebate method is dependent on the price the wholesaler charges its retailers. Such a 
method is prohibited by Arkansas law. 

The Director finds the Texas Bulletin persuasive and hereby adopts it for the purpose of 
interpreting the Arkansas prohibition on "reach-back pricing." The Director finds that the rebate 
method addressed in this Bulletin constitutes prohibited reach-back pricing. In using this 
method, a manufactu rer calculates its rebate based upon discounts provided below the RPTR. 
If the wholesaler's price to the retailer higher t han wholesa ler receives a reduced rebate, or it is 
eliminated ent irely. 

That th is rebate method constitutes reach-back pricing is further bolstered by the fact that, 
when the maximum discount is not provided below the RPTR, the amount of the rebate held 
back by the manufacturer is identica l to the add it ional amount rea lized by the wholesaler as a 
result of its mark-up in price to the reta iler. 

Arkansas has adopted and follows the three-tier system of distribution for alcoho lic beverages 
in part to protect a wholesaler's right to independently set its prices. The purpose of this 
Bulletin is to emphasize that the ABC wi ll strict ly enforce the prohibitions of ACA § 3-5-107 and 
ABC regu lat ion 2.28(11) regarding reach-back pricing. The Director finds that the rebate 
method described herein runs afoul of both those provisions and is prohibited in Arkansas. 

Other rebate and reimbursement methods utili zed by beer manufacturers have not been 
challenged. Therefore, these other methods appear to be acceptable as standard ind ustry 
practice. This conclusion is made w ithout a formal review of any other method and is subject 
to a formal decision by the ABC shou ld any other method be challenged. 
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